Labour Court

Learn about the procedures required to make use of the labour court, including how the court is structured and how to get in contact with court officials.e Constitutional Court is.

General Overview

The Labour Relations Act established the Labour Court in South Africa. The Labour Court has the same status as a High Court and deals with matters relating to labour disputes. These matters may go on appeal and will be heard in the Labour Appeal Court. 

The Labour court consists of: 

  •       Judge president; 
  •       Deputy judge president; and 
  •       As many judges that the President may consider necessary. 

Note: All judges in the Labour court must be High Court judges or lawyers with Labour Law experience. 

Matters heard in the Labour Court:

  •       Matters arising between employer, employee and trade unions; 
  •       Unfair labour practices/dismissals; 
  •       Misconduct; 
  •       Strikes and lockouts;
  •       Collective bargaining;
  •       Leave and remuneration;
  •       Working hours disputes; and 
  •       Discrimination and affirmative action. 

The Labour Relations Act confers the power on the Labour Court to:

  •       Grant urgent relief and interdicts;
  •       Determine disputes;
  •       Issue declaratory orders;
  •       Issue awards of compensation and damages;
  •       Enforce arbitration awards; and 
  •       Review decisions, rulings of the CCMA and bargaining councils.

Contact Information

Office hours and address of registrar:

The office of the registrar is at:

Sixth and Seventh Floors Arbour Square Building corner of Juta and Melle Streets 




Branch offices of the registrar are at: 

First Floor Twinell House 112 Long Street 

Cape Town  



Fourth Floor ICL House 480 Smith Street 




First Floor Auto and General Towers 190 Govan Mbeki Avenue 

Port Elizabeth  



The office and branch offices of the registrar will be open every Monday to Friday, excluding public holidays, from 08:00 to 13:00 and from 14:00 to 15:30.